Sunday, May 16, 2010

Nebula Winners

Last night the Nebula Award winners for this year were announced. The winners in each category are as follows:

The Windup Girl – Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade Books, Sept. 2009)

The Women of Nell Gwynne’s – Kage Baker (Subterranean Press, June 2009)

“Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast,”
Eugie Foster (Interzone, Feb. 2009)

Short Story
“Spar,” Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, Oct. 2009)

Ray Bradbury Award
District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell (Tri-Star, Aug. 2009)

Andre Norton Award
The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making,
Catherynne M. Valente (Catherynne M. Valente, June 2009)

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making is a free story that is available to read online. The short story "Spar" can also be read online.

Congratulations to all the winners! I'm especially glad to see Catherynne M. Valente win an award since she is a very talented writer based on the novel by her I have read (The Orphan's Tales: In the Night Garden). I haven't read any of the other authors, but I'm starting to think I should read The Windup Girl and sort of wish I'd picked it up when I saw it at Borders yesterday.


orannia said...

Thank you Kristen!

I really don't read enough :)

Kristen said...

Orannia - LOL, I know the feeling. Especially after just thinking about all the books I want to read next month and knowing I won't even get through a quarter of them.