Sunday, April 26, 2009

2009 Nebula Award Winners Announced

Science Fiction Awards Watch has listed the winners of the Nebula Award, who were announced at an awards ceremony last night. The winners are as follows:


  • Powers - Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt, Sep07)


  • “The Spacetime Pool” - Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar08)


  • “Pride and Prometheus” - John Kessel (F&SF, Jan08)

Short Story

  • “Trophy Wives” - Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, Daw Jan08)


  • WALL-E” Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)

Andre Norton Award

  • Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) - Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt, Sep08)

Congratulations to the winners! I was especially glad to see Catherine Asaro on the list and I found this excellent interview with her on the Nebula Awards website.


orannia said...

Congrats to the winners and to all the nominees :) And thank you for the heads up Kristen!

And I'm embarrassed to admit I haven't read an Ursula Le Guin book since The Earthsea quartet. Guess what I'll be hunting up at the library this afternoon?

Kristen said...

Orannia - I haven't read that much by Ursula LeGuin, either - just the original Earthsea trilogy and The Telling. That's something I'll have to remedy at some point starting with The Left Hand of Darkness.